Pet travel route
Dog or cat from Spain to Morocco: official requirements
Possible. With nothing done yet, start at least 4 weeks ahead for a dog. The main steps: microchip or tattoo before the rabies vaccination, rabies vaccination (inactivated vaccine), rabies blood test, if your pet stays less than 12 months and health certificate for Morocco, signed after a vet check within 24 hours of departure.
Rules checked up to 13 October 2026From 14 official pages
In short
- Dogs and cats differ on this route: choose Dog or Cat to see just yours.
- Morocco puts Spain in the group “EU country”, which decides part of the rules.
- On this route: rabies blood test needed.
- No import permit or quarantine on this route for a pet that meets the rules.
- Coming back to Spain? 2 steps have to happen before your pet leaves.
Limited official guidance. The authority for leaving Spain publishes little for this route. Everything it does say is here, with its wording. MAPA's page gives no deadline, fee or office for the export certificate: your vet applies for it through the CEXGAN system, and the destination's own rules decide the rest.
Limited official guidance. The authority for entering Morocco publishes little for this route. Everything it does say is here, with its wording. Morocco's food safety office (ONSSA) publishes no guide for pet owners, only the model health certificates your country's vet must sign (as scanned documents) and its fee list. The models set no minimum age. Every model also has the vet certify that your pet has lived in a country or area free of rabies for the last 6 months (the US model says premises); only the UK explains how its vets read this, so if your pet comes from a country where rabies is present, ask ONSSA or the official vet service in your country before you travel.
At a glance
How early to start (dogs)
4 weeks
if your pet has no microchip or rabies vaccination yet
Set by: Health certificate for Morocco, signed after a vet check within 24 hours of departure (the vet examines your pet within the 24 hours before loading and signs the certificate that day)
No official wait
if it is already microchipped and vaccinated
The least time the official waiting periods allow. Vet, lab and paperwork appointments come on top.
On this route (dogs)
- Rabies blood test needed
- No import permit
- No quarantine
How early to start (cats)
4 weeks
if your pet has no microchip or rabies vaccination yet
Set by: Health certificate for Morocco, signed after a vet check within 24 hours of departure (the vet examines your pet within the 24 hours before loading and signs the certificate that day)
No official wait
if it is already microchipped and vaccinated
The least time the official waiting periods allow. Vet, lab and paperwork appointments come on top.
On this route (cats)
- Rabies blood test needed
- No import permit
- No quarantine
Which rules apply to you
Morocco puts Spain in the group “EU country”. See every group
Official name: European Union: model I.CN-CT UE.JUIL.2023 (Spain, Portugal, the Netherlands and Slovenia also have their own agreed certificate)
Rule-change alertsChecked daily
Know the moment the rules change from Spain to Morocco
We check the official sources every day. If a rule changes, you get a notification on this device.
- Free
- No email or account
- Turn off any time
- 1Tap Share in Safari
- 2Choose Add to Home Screen
- 3Open Pawhopper from your Home Screen, then tap Turn on alerts here
Alerts are on
We’ll notify this device when a rule changes from Spain to Morocco.
New pet travel guides are on for this browser.

Pawhopper · now
Rule change for pets travelling from Spain to Morocco
Leaving rules: Morocco (short summary, under review). Tap to see what changed.
Prefer a feed reader? Spain rule changes · Morocco rule changes
We keep only this browser’s push address and the countries, until you turn alerts off. Privacy
Spain → Morocco
What your pet needs
In the order you do them. Each step says whether Spain (leaving) or Morocco (entering) asks for it.
Dogs
Get ready
Residence ruleEntering Morocco
6 months in a rabies-free country or area (ask ONSSA)
The official vet certifies that your pet has lived in a country or area free of rabies since birth or for at least the 6 months before it leaves. ONSSA doesn't say how this applies to a pet from a country where rabies is present: ask your official vet service or ONSSA before you plan the trip.
The official wording is ambiguous. Confirm this point with the authority.
Details and the official words
Every ONSSA model has this statement. The certificates don't define a rabies-free country or area, and ONSSA publishes no list. Neither ONSSA nor USDA APHIS's page for Morocco (November 2025) explains what US vets check for premises free of rabies.
“Ont été entretenus dans un pays ou dans une zone indemne de rage depuis leur naissance ou depuis au moins les 6 mois ayant précédé leur chargement”
“Ont été entretenus dans un pays ou dans une zone indemne de rage depuis leur naissance ou depuis au moins les 6 mois ayant précédé leur chargement.”
“Ont été entretenus dans un lieu indemne de rage depuis leur naissance ou depuis au moins les 6 mois ayant précédé leur chargement.”
“Have been maintained in rabies free premises since their birth or at least during the last six months prior to their loading.”
IdentificationEntering Morocco
Microchip or tattoo before the rabies vaccination
Your pet must carry a permanent identification (a microchip or a tattoo) put in before its rabies vaccination.
Details and the official words
“Marque d’identification (tatouage ou puce)”
“Ont été identifiés à l’aide d’une marque permanente, préalablement à leur vaccination contre la rage”
“Ont été identifiés à l’aide d’une marque permanente, préalablement à leur vaccination contre la rage.”
“Ont été identifiés à l’aide d’une marque permanente, préalablement à leur vaccination contre la rage.”
“Have been identified with permanent mark, prior to their vaccination against rabies”
“Pets must be identified by a permanent means (i.e., microchip or tattoo) prior to rabies vaccination (dogs and cats).”
VaccinationEntering Morocco
Rabies vaccination (inactivated vaccine)
Your pet must be correctly vaccinated against rabies with an inactivated vaccine, after the microchip. The certificate lists the vaccine, its maker, the batch and the dates of the first vaccination and the last booster. Your model gives no waiting time after the vaccination (Spain's gives 21 days).
Details and the official words
No minimum age for the vaccination is given.
“Ont été correctement vaccinés contre la rage par un vaccin inactivé, et que 21 jours au moins se sont écoulés après la primovaccination antirabique”
“Ont été correctement vaccinés contre la rage par un vaccin inactivé”
“Ont été correctement vaccinés contre la rage par un vaccin inactivé”
“Have been correctly vaccinated against rabies with inactivated vaccine”
“Have been correctly vaccinated against rabies with inactivated vaccine, and at least 21 days have elapsed after the primary rabies vaccination”
“Rabies vaccination is mandatory. Only licensed products are allowed. The vaccination must be given in accordance with manufacturer's instructions. Any booster vaccinations must be given within the year.”
“Ont été correctement vaccinés contre la rage par un vaccin inactivé, et que 21 jours au moins se sont écoulés après la vaccination antirabique”
Blood testEntering Morocco
Rabies blood test, if your pet stays less than 12 months
Unless your pet is moving to Morocco for good, a vet authorised by your country's authority takes a blood sample at least 30 days after the last rabies vaccination, and the result must be at least 0.5 IU/ml. The lab report, stamped by your country's veterinary authority, is attached to the certificate. A pet moving to Morocco permanently doesn't need it: its certificate says so instead.
Details and the official words
From the UK and the countries on ONSSA's general model, we leave the test out when your trip back starts at least 13 calendar months after arrival. A stay of exactly 12 months isn't covered by either line of the certificate, so we keep the test for it.
If you haven't entered a trip back, we keep the test: skip it if your pet is moving to Morocco for more than 12 months (from the EU: for good).
The EU model offers only two choices: exported for good, or temporarily with the blood test. From the EU, any trip back keeps the test, however long the stay.
The US model has no blood test.
“Seront exportés pour une période supérieure à 12 mois”
“Seront exportés temporairement au Maroc pour une période inférieure à 12 mois, et ont été soumis à un prélèvement de sang, effectué par un vétérinaire habilité par l'autorité compétente, pour la recherche des anticorps sériques neutralisant le virus rabique, au moins 30 jours après la vaccination précédente contre la rage avec un titre supérieur ou égal à 0,5 UI/ml”
“Les bulletins d'analyses de laboratoire du test ci-dessus mentionné, visés par l'autorité vétérinaire du pays d'origine sont joints au présent certificat sanitaire vétérinaire”
“Seront exportés définitivement au Maroc”
“Seront exportés temporairement au Maroc et ont été soumis à un prélèvement de sang, effectué par un vétérinaire habilité par l'autorité compétente, pour la recherche des anticorps sériques neutralisant le virus rabique, au moins 30 jours après la vaccination précédente contre la rage avec un titre supérieur ou égal à 0,5 UI/ml.”
“Will be exported temporarily for a period less than 12 months, and have been submitted to a blood sample, taken by the competent authority, for an antibody titration test at least 30 days after the previous rabies vaccination, with a positive result, of at least 0.5 IU/ml”
In the days before you travel
PaperworkSpain and Morocco
Health certificate for Morocco, signed after a vet check within 24 hours of departure
An official vet in your country examines your pet within the 24 hours before it leaves and signs ONSSA's model health certificate for your country: your pet is healthy, with no signs of contagious disease on the day it is loaded.
Details and the official words
Export certificate requested by your vet through CEXGAN: To get your pet's export certificate, your vet has to request it through MAPA's CEXGAN application. The EU pet passport alone is not enough to leave the EU.
MAPA's page gives no deadline for how recent the certificate must be: the destination's own requirements decide.
“Je soussigné, vétérinaire officiel, certifie que les animaux désignés ci-dessus et examinés ce jour”
“Ont été examinés au cours des 24 dernières heures, ont été trouvés en bon état de santé et n’ont présenté aucun signe clinique de maladies contagieuses propres à l’espèce, le jour de leur chargement”
“Ont été examinés au cours des 24 dernières heures, ont été trouvés en bon état de santé et n’ont présenté aucun signe clinique de maladies contagieuses propres à l’espèce, le jour de leur chargement.”
“Je soussigné, vétérinaire agréé par l’USDA certifie que les animaux désignés ci-dessus et examinés ce jour”
“ce certificat a une durée de validité de 3 jours avant le départ des animaux vers le Maroc”
“this certificate is valid for 3 days prior to the departure of the animals to Morocco.”
“The health certificate must be issued by a USDA accredited veterinarian within five (5) business days of export.”
“The health certificate must be endorsed by APHIS within three (3) calendar days of export.”
“Were examined in the last 24 hours and found to be in good health and show no clinical signs of contagious diseases specific to the species, the day of their loading”
“This certificate is valid for 7 days”
“Para obtener el certificado de exportación de su mascota, su veterinario deberá solicitarlo a través de la aplicación CEXGAN”
Travel day and arrival
On arrivalEntering Morocco
ONSSA check at the border inspection post
On arrival, ONSSA's vets at the border inspection post (Morocco has 16) check the certificate, your pet's identity and its health. Only pets that meet the requirements are let in. ONSSA's fee list sets 300 dirhams per animal for its health certificate for importing dogs and cats.
Details and the official words
The fee list (decision of 7 April 2025, code IM-SA-1) gives the price per head, tax included. It doesn't say where or when it is paid: ask at the border post.
“Au Maroc 16 PIF sont ouverts par voie réglementaire à l’import/export des animaux et le contrôle sanitaire est effectué par des vétérinaires de l’Office National de Sécurité Sanitaire des Produits Alimentaires (ONSSA).”
“Après un contrôle documentaire, d’identité et physique, seuls les animaux qui sont conformes sur le plan sanitaire sont autorisés à être admis sur le territoire national.”
“Certificat sanitaire à l'importation de chiens et de chats”
Good to know
- Morocco bans importing dogs classed as dangerous: pit bull types (Staffordshire Bull Terrier, American Staffordshire Bull Terrier), boerboel types (Mastiff) and Tosa.
- Your country has its own certificate agreed with Morocco (Spain, Portugal, the Netherlands and Slovenia). Its health statements match the EU model shown here; Spain's adds a 21-day wait after the rabies vaccination, which is included below. Spain's and Portugal's also accept a pet that is coming back after less than 6 months in Morocco instead of the 6 months in a rabies-free country.
- At the border inspection post, ONSSA's vets check the documents, your pet's identity and its health. A pet that doesn't meet the requirements is sent back or destroyed.
- To travel to a non-EU country your pet must meet that country's requirements. Ask its embassy or consulate, and check the companion-animal export section of the CEXGAN system, which publishes information notes by country.
- To come back from a non-EU country that needs the rabies antibody test, the 90-day wait after the blood sample does not apply if the test was done with a favourable result before your pet left the EU and is recorded in its passport.
- Planning to bring your pet back to the EU? After a short stay in a non-EU country you can skip the 3-month wait after the rabies blood test, but only if, before you leave the EU, your pet was vaccinated against rabies, passed a successful titer test, and your vet recorded both in its EU pet passport. So do the blood test before you go.
Cats
Get ready
Residence ruleEntering Morocco
6 months in a rabies-free country or area (ask ONSSA)
The official vet certifies that your pet has lived in a country or area free of rabies since birth or for at least the 6 months before it leaves. ONSSA doesn't say how this applies to a pet from a country where rabies is present: ask your official vet service or ONSSA before you plan the trip.
The official wording is ambiguous. Confirm this point with the authority.
Details and the official words
Every ONSSA model has this statement. The certificates don't define a rabies-free country or area, and ONSSA publishes no list. Neither ONSSA nor USDA APHIS's page for Morocco (November 2025) explains what US vets check for premises free of rabies.
“Ont été entretenus dans un pays ou dans une zone indemne de rage depuis leur naissance ou depuis au moins les 6 mois ayant précédé leur chargement”
“Ont été entretenus dans un pays ou dans une zone indemne de rage depuis leur naissance ou depuis au moins les 6 mois ayant précédé leur chargement.”
“Ont été entretenus dans un lieu indemne de rage depuis leur naissance ou depuis au moins les 6 mois ayant précédé leur chargement.”
“Have been maintained in rabies free premises since their birth or at least during the last six months prior to their loading.”
IdentificationEntering Morocco
Microchip or tattoo before the rabies vaccination
Your pet must carry a permanent identification (a microchip or a tattoo) put in before its rabies vaccination.
Details and the official words
“Marque d’identification (tatouage ou puce)”
“Ont été identifiés à l’aide d’une marque permanente, préalablement à leur vaccination contre la rage”
“Ont été identifiés à l’aide d’une marque permanente, préalablement à leur vaccination contre la rage.”
“Ont été identifiés à l’aide d’une marque permanente, préalablement à leur vaccination contre la rage.”
“Have been identified with permanent mark, prior to their vaccination against rabies”
“Pets must be identified by a permanent means (i.e., microchip or tattoo) prior to rabies vaccination (dogs and cats).”
VaccinationEntering Morocco
Rabies vaccination (inactivated vaccine)
Your pet must be correctly vaccinated against rabies with an inactivated vaccine, after the microchip. The certificate lists the vaccine, its maker, the batch and the dates of the first vaccination and the last booster. Your model gives no waiting time after the vaccination (Spain's gives 21 days).
Details and the official words
No minimum age for the vaccination is given.
“Ont été correctement vaccinés contre la rage par un vaccin inactivé, et que 21 jours au moins se sont écoulés après la primovaccination antirabique”
“Ont été correctement vaccinés contre la rage par un vaccin inactivé”
“Ont été correctement vaccinés contre la rage par un vaccin inactivé”
“Have been correctly vaccinated against rabies with inactivated vaccine”
“Have been correctly vaccinated against rabies with inactivated vaccine, and at least 21 days have elapsed after the primary rabies vaccination”
“Rabies vaccination is mandatory. Only licensed products are allowed. The vaccination must be given in accordance with manufacturer's instructions. Any booster vaccinations must be given within the year.”
“Ont été correctement vaccinés contre la rage par un vaccin inactivé, et que 21 jours au moins se sont écoulés après la vaccination antirabique”
Blood testEntering Morocco
Rabies blood test, if your pet stays less than 12 months
Unless your pet is moving to Morocco for good, a vet authorised by your country's authority takes a blood sample at least 30 days after the last rabies vaccination, and the result must be at least 0.5 IU/ml. The lab report, stamped by your country's veterinary authority, is attached to the certificate. A pet moving to Morocco permanently doesn't need it: its certificate says so instead.
Details and the official words
From the UK and the countries on ONSSA's general model, we leave the test out when your trip back starts at least 13 calendar months after arrival. A stay of exactly 12 months isn't covered by either line of the certificate, so we keep the test for it.
If you haven't entered a trip back, we keep the test: skip it if your pet is moving to Morocco for more than 12 months (from the EU: for good).
The EU model offers only two choices: exported for good, or temporarily with the blood test. From the EU, any trip back keeps the test, however long the stay.
The US model has no blood test.
“Seront exportés pour une période supérieure à 12 mois”
“Seront exportés temporairement au Maroc pour une période inférieure à 12 mois, et ont été soumis à un prélèvement de sang, effectué par un vétérinaire habilité par l'autorité compétente, pour la recherche des anticorps sériques neutralisant le virus rabique, au moins 30 jours après la vaccination précédente contre la rage avec un titre supérieur ou égal à 0,5 UI/ml”
“Les bulletins d'analyses de laboratoire du test ci-dessus mentionné, visés par l'autorité vétérinaire du pays d'origine sont joints au présent certificat sanitaire vétérinaire”
“Seront exportés définitivement au Maroc”
“Seront exportés temporairement au Maroc et ont été soumis à un prélèvement de sang, effectué par un vétérinaire habilité par l'autorité compétente, pour la recherche des anticorps sériques neutralisant le virus rabique, au moins 30 jours après la vaccination précédente contre la rage avec un titre supérieur ou égal à 0,5 UI/ml.”
“Will be exported temporarily for a period less than 12 months, and have been submitted to a blood sample, taken by the competent authority, for an antibody titration test at least 30 days after the previous rabies vaccination, with a positive result, of at least 0.5 IU/ml”
In the days before you travel
PaperworkSpain and Morocco
Health certificate for Morocco, signed after a vet check within 24 hours of departure
An official vet in your country examines your pet within the 24 hours before it leaves and signs ONSSA's model health certificate for your country: your pet is healthy, with no signs of contagious disease on the day it is loaded.
Details and the official words
Export certificate requested by your vet through CEXGAN: To get your pet's export certificate, your vet has to request it through MAPA's CEXGAN application. The EU pet passport alone is not enough to leave the EU.
MAPA's page gives no deadline for how recent the certificate must be: the destination's own requirements decide.
“Je soussigné, vétérinaire officiel, certifie que les animaux désignés ci-dessus et examinés ce jour”
“Ont été examinés au cours des 24 dernières heures, ont été trouvés en bon état de santé et n’ont présenté aucun signe clinique de maladies contagieuses propres à l’espèce, le jour de leur chargement”
“Ont été examinés au cours des 24 dernières heures, ont été trouvés en bon état de santé et n’ont présenté aucun signe clinique de maladies contagieuses propres à l’espèce, le jour de leur chargement.”
“Je soussigné, vétérinaire agréé par l’USDA certifie que les animaux désignés ci-dessus et examinés ce jour”
“ce certificat a une durée de validité de 3 jours avant le départ des animaux vers le Maroc”
“this certificate is valid for 3 days prior to the departure of the animals to Morocco.”
“The health certificate must be issued by a USDA accredited veterinarian within five (5) business days of export.”
“The health certificate must be endorsed by APHIS within three (3) calendar days of export.”
“Were examined in the last 24 hours and found to be in good health and show no clinical signs of contagious diseases specific to the species, the day of their loading”
“This certificate is valid for 7 days”
“Para obtener el certificado de exportación de su mascota, su veterinario deberá solicitarlo a través de la aplicación CEXGAN”
Travel day and arrival
On arrivalEntering Morocco
ONSSA check at the border inspection post
On arrival, ONSSA's vets at the border inspection post (Morocco has 16) check the certificate, your pet's identity and its health. Only pets that meet the requirements are let in. ONSSA's fee list sets 300 dirhams per animal for its health certificate for importing dogs and cats.
Details and the official words
The fee list (decision of 7 April 2025, code IM-SA-1) gives the price per head, tax included. It doesn't say where or when it is paid: ask at the border post.
“Au Maroc 16 PIF sont ouverts par voie réglementaire à l’import/export des animaux et le contrôle sanitaire est effectué par des vétérinaires de l’Office National de Sécurité Sanitaire des Produits Alimentaires (ONSSA).”
“Après un contrôle documentaire, d’identité et physique, seuls les animaux qui sont conformes sur le plan sanitaire sont autorisés à être admis sur le territoire national.”
“Certificat sanitaire à l'importation de chiens et de chats”
Good to know
- Your country has its own certificate agreed with Morocco (Spain, Portugal, the Netherlands and Slovenia). Its health statements match the EU model shown here; Spain's adds a 21-day wait after the rabies vaccination, which is included below. Spain's and Portugal's also accept a pet that is coming back after less than 6 months in Morocco instead of the 6 months in a rabies-free country.
- At the border inspection post, ONSSA's vets check the documents, your pet's identity and its health. A pet that doesn't meet the requirements is sent back or destroyed.
- To travel to a non-EU country your pet must meet that country's requirements. Ask its embassy or consulate, and check the companion-animal export section of the CEXGAN system, which publishes information notes by country.
- To come back from a non-EU country that needs the rabies antibody test, the 90-day wait after the blood sample does not apply if the test was done with a favourable result before your pet left the EU and is recorded in its passport.
- Planning to bring your pet back to the EU? After a short stay in a non-EU country you can skip the 3-month wait after the rabies blood test, but only if, before you leave the EU, your pet was vaccinated against rabies, passed a successful titer test, and your vet recorded both in its EU pet passport. So do the blood test before you go.
Money
What it costs
Government fees exactly as the official pages state them, and what vets and labs in Spain publish for the steps above. The two are never added together.
Government fees on this route
ONSSA health certificate for importing dogs and cats (per animal)Entering Morocco · 300 MAD for each extra pet300 MAD
“Certificat sanitaire à l'importation de chiens et de chats”
Décision fixant la liste et les prix des services et prestations rendus aux tiers par l'ONSSA (signed 7 April 2025, scanned PDF) · as of 2026-10-13
Government fees in total: 300 MAD (each currency separately)
What vets and labs charge Not official figures
Microchipyour vet · for: microchip or tattoo before the rabies vaccination35.90–45 EUR
Spain: 3 published prices
- Clínica Veterinaria Valderrama (Hospital Veterinario Burgos): Microchip plus registration in the Castilla y León register (SIACYL); 2026 price list35.90 EUR · per pet · read 2026-10-13
- OhaVet (home-visit vet, Madrid): Microchip and registration in the Madrid register (RIAC); home-visit vet, travel within Madrid and surroundings included, VAT included40 EUR · per pet · read 2026-10-13
- Barvet (Las Rozas de Madrid): Microchip implant plus official registration in the Madrid register (RIAC); VAT included45 EUR · per pet · read 2026-10-13
Rabies vaccinationyour vet · for: rabies vaccination (inactivated vaccine)27.90–45.70 EUR
Spain: 4 published prices
- Clínica Veterinaria Valderrama (Hospital Veterinario Burgos): Rabies vaccine; 2026 price list (consultation listed separately on the page)27.90 EUR · per vaccination · read 2026-10-13
- Barvet (Las Rozas de Madrid): Rabies vaccine for a dog, including a full check of the animal (home vaccination service in Las Rozas); VAT included30 EUR · per vaccination · read 2026-10-13
- VacuSevilla (home-visit vet, Sevilla): Rabies vaccine for a dog at home (no consultation fee charged on vaccination visits; a travel charge by distance applies on top)31 EUR · per vaccination · read 2026-10-13
- Centre Veterinari de Cornellà (Cornellà de Llobregat, Barcelona): Rabies vaccine, 'from' price in the practice's indicative 2026 pet-export price table (Tarifas orientativas 2026)45.70 EUR · per vaccination (from) · read 2026-10-13
Rabies blood testan approved laboratory, through your vet · for: rabies blood test, if your pet stays less than 12 months181–221.60 EUR
Spain: 2 published prices
- Barvet (Las Rozas de Madrid): Vet's price for a rabies antibody test (whether blood draw and lab are both included is not stated); VAT included181 EUR · per test · read 2026-10-13
- Centre Veterinari de Cornellà (Cornellà de Llobregat, Barcelona): Vet's 'from' price for a rabies serology test at an official EU laboratory, in the practice's indicative 2026 pet-export price table (Tarifas orientativas 2026)221.60 EUR · per test (from) · read 2026-10-13
Rabies blood test: the lab’s own pricean approved laboratory; your vet adds the blood draw and the courier · for: rabies blood test, if your pet stays less than 12 monthsPrices from 8 countries
Austria: 1 published price
- AGES (Austrian Agency for Health and Food Safety), Institute for Veterinary Investigations Mödling: Lab price for the rabies antibody titre test for pets (EU-recognised lab), samples sent from EU countries, 20% VAT included; transport to the lab paid by the sender97.26 EUR · per sample · read 2026-10-13
France: 2 published prices
- Laboratoire départemental de la Haute-Garonne (LD31 EVA): Lab price for the FAVN (WOAH/OMSA method) rabies antibody test, VAT included, price guaranteed until 31/12/2026 (from the lab's order form)99 EUR · per test · read 2026-10-13
- Inovalys (laboratory): Lab price only: rabies antibody titration (COFRAC accredited), ordered online by the owner; the page says the blood sample is taken by your vet and sending it to the lab is the owner's responsibility (no amounts given for those)99.18 EUR · per test · read 2026-10-13
the United Kingdom: 2 published prices
- Animal and Plant Health Agency (APHA), Weybridge: Lab price for the FAVN rabies antibody test for dogs and cats for pet travel (test code TC0712), single sample, excluding VAT72.30 GBP · per test · read 2026-10-13
- Animal and Plant Health Agency (APHA), Weybridge: Lab price for the FAVN rabies antibody test for dogs and cats, extended method (test code TC0570), single sample, excluding VAT106 GBP · per test · read 2026-10-13
Japan: 1 published price
- Research Institute for Animal Science in Biochemistry and Toxicology (RIAS, 一般財団法人生物科学安全研究所): Lab fee only: rabies antibody test at RIAS (a MAFF-designated lab), tax included, paid in advance by bank transfer; vet's blood draw and shipping not included15,000 JPY · per sample · read 2026-10-13
Poland: 1 published price
- National Veterinary Research Institute (PIWet-PIB), Puławy: Lab price for the FAVN rabies antibody test, standard service (max 21 calendar days), electronic report only, gross (VAT included)280 PLN · per test · read 2026-10-13
Sweden: 1 published price
- Swedish Veterinary Agency (SVA): Lab price for the FAVN rabies vaccination-check antibody test (article D142410), excluding VAT (exkl. moms)1,365 SEK · per test · read 2026-10-13
the United States: 1 published price
- University of Missouri Veterinary Medical Diagnostic Laboratory: Lab price for the FAVN rabies antibody test for pet travel/export (University of Missouri VMDL One Health-Rabies Laboratory); shipping not stated79 USD · per test · read 2026-10-13
South Africa: 1 published price
- Agricultural Research Council – Onderstepoort Veterinary Research (ARC-OVR): Lab price for the rabies neutralization (antibody) test per clear serum sample, VAT included; the price list does not name FAVN or RFFIT (ARC-Onderstepoort diagnostic price list, PDF created May 2026)2,030 ZAR · per clear serum sample · read 2026-10-13
Health certificate (vet’s fee)your vet · for: health certificate for Morocco, signed after a vet check within 24 hours of departure110–140 EUR
Spain: 3 published prices
- VacuSevilla (home-visit vet, Sevilla): CEXGAN certificate (Spain's official export health certificate for travel outside the EU), home-visit vet; travel charge extra110 EUR · per certificate · read 2026-10-13
- Barvet (Las Rozas de Madrid): CEXGAN certificate for travel outside the EU, full handling with the Ministry; VAT included140 EUR · per certificate · read 2026-10-13
- Centre Veterinari de Cornellà (Cornellà de Llobregat, Barcelona): Issuing (processing) the CEXGAN export certificate, 'from' price in the practice's indicative 2026 pet-export price table (Tarifas orientativas 2026)140 EUR · per certificate (from) · read 2026-10-13
Prices that businesses publish on their own pages, quoted as we read them; yours can differ. Ranges are the lowest to highest of these examples, never our estimate. How we collect prices
Airline fees aren’t included: check your airline’s pet page.
Round trip
Coming back to Spain
Do before your pet leaves Spain
- Microchip
- Rabies vaccination
Their timing rules put them before the outbound trip, for a three-month stay.
The trip back asks for 6 steps: microchip, rabies vaccination, rabies antibody blood test (titer) and EU animal health certificate and more.
Nearby routes
Other routes
Where this comes from
Official sources
- Importation de chiens et chats: certificats sanitaires par pays (ONSSA)
- Contrôle à l'importation: animaux (ONSSA)
- Certificat sanitaire pour l'importation au Maroc de chiens et de chats, pays non listés (modèle I.CT.CN.JUIL.2025, scanned PDF)
- Certificat sanitaire pour l'importation définitive ou temporaire au Maroc de chiens et chats à partir de l'Union européenne (modèle I.CN-CT UE.JUIL.2023, scanned PDF)
- Certificat sanitaire pour l'importation au Maroc de chiens et de chats en provenance des États-Unis (modèle I.Dog.Cat.USA.Dec.2017, scanned PDF)
- Export of pet dogs/cats from the United Kingdom to Morocco: health certificate 3916EHC, revised 12/08/2025 (ONSSA copy of 15 August 2025, scanned PDF)
- Certificado sanitario para la exportación a Marruecos de perros y gatos desde España (ASE-3131 RCC0322, ONSSA copy, scanned PDF)
- Avis au public n° 590: importation au Maroc de chiens dangereux (ONSSA, 9 February 2021, scanned PDF)
- Décision fixant la liste et les prix des services et prestations rendus aux tiers par l'ONSSA (signed 7 April 2025, scanned PDF)
- Export of pet dogs and cats from the United Kingdom to Morocco: notes for guidance 3916NFG (APHA, revised 28 November 2023)
- Pet travel from the United States to Morocco (USDA APHIS, last modified 20 November 2025)
- Health certificate to import dogs and cats from the United States of America into Morocco (ONSSA model I.Dog.Cat.USA.Dec.2017), published by USDA APHIS
- Viajar con la mascota. Perros, gatos, hurones (MAPA)
- EU rules on travelling with pets and other animals in the EU (Your Europe)
Last checked against the official pages: 2026-10-13.
Questions owners ask
Does my dog or cat need a rabies blood test to go from Spain to Morocco?
Yes: Unless your pet is moving to Morocco for good, a vet authorised by your country's authority takes a blood sample at least 30 days after the last rabies vaccination, and the result must be at least 0.5 IU/ml.
Do I need an import permit to bring my dog or cat into Morocco?
No. The official rules we have verified for this route don't ask for an import permit.
Will my dog or cat be quarantined in Morocco?
Not on the routes we have verified: the official rules list no quarantine for a pet that meets the requirements.
How early should I start preparing my pet for Spain to Morocco?
With nothing done yet, start at least 4 weeks ahead for a dog. The main steps: microchip or tattoo before the rabies vaccination, rabies vaccination (inactivated vaccine), rabies blood test, if your pet stays less than 12 months and health certificate for Morocco, signed after a vet check within 24 hours of departure.
Every rule here is quoted from the official page and checked word for word; not legal advice. How we verify · Report a mistake
Read next
Turn this into dates for your pet
Where from, where to, when. You get every step with its deadline and the official page it comes from.